QoEMCS at EuroITV 2012

In the framework of the EuroITV 2012 (July 4 2012 @Berlin, Germany) the workshop of QoE for Multimedia Sharing will take place in parallel. The workshop is supported by Qualinet Cost action and I participate also in the Technical Program Committee (TPC). I believe that it is quite interesting to be supported by the QoE-related colleagues.

Conference Objective

Multimedia applications are becoming more and more part of our everyday life. With the fast development of social networks and exchange platforms, users interact with each other through multimedia content, from different places, using different platforms. In order to make these applications available and successful, all the elements involved in the chain between multimedia content production and consumption have to work together with one goal in mind : maximising the Quality of Experience on the user’s side. This global issue requires taking into account a high variability of devices, networks, users and consumption scenarios, while addressing technological constraints related to the available resources in terms of network capacities, computation power and storage. In order to gain more knowledge on the provision and assessment of Quality of User Experience, new parameters have to be considered, such as from the psychophysical and environmental context. These efforts are further justified by the emergence of new multimedia concepts and applications, such as 3DTV, Free Viewpoint TV and Mobile TV, which include complex interactions with the users and with their environment. The QoEMCS workshop has been part of the last two editions of EuroITV. The third edition will once again focus on QoE and multimedia interactions, centered around the evaluation and optimization of interactions between users across different places and platforms.

Organising Committee
  • Yohann Pitrey, University of Vienna (AUT),
  • Shelley Buchinger, University of Vienna (AUT),
  • Rui Jorge Lopes, Instituto de Telecomunicações and ISCTE – Instituto Universitário de Lisboa (POR)
  • Satu Jumisko-Pyykkö, Tampere University of Technology (FIN)
  • Hans-Jürgen Zepernick, Blekinge Institute of Technology (SWE)
Technical Program Committee
  • Manora Caldera, Curtin University of Technology (AUS),
  • Touradj Ebrahimi, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (CH),
  • Markus Fiedler, Blekinge Institute of Technology (SWE),
  • Helmut Hlavacs, University of Vienna (AUT),
  • Harilaos Koumaras, NCSR Demokritos (GR),
  • Maulana Kusuma, Gunadarma University (ID),
  • Hendrik Knoche, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (CH),
  • Patrick Le Callet, Université de Nantes (FR),
  • Andreas Mauthe, Lancaster University (UK),
  • Maria Paula Queluz, Instituto de Telecomunicações and IST (POR),
  • Bijan Rohani, Phybit, (SG),
  • Burkhard Stiller, Universität Zürich (CH),
  • Nitin Suresh, Georgia Institute of Technology (USA),
  • Junyong You, NTNU (NO)
Important Dates
  • April 20 2012 : Paper Submission

  • May 15 2012 : Notification of Acceptance

  • June 15 2012 : Camera-ready Version

  • July 4 2012 : Workshop at EuroITV in Berlin