International Workshop on Ambient Assisted Living (IWAAL-2010)

International Workshop on Ambient Assisted Living (IWAAL-2010)
Valencia, SPAIN, September 7-10, 2010, within CEDI 2010

IWAAL 2010,
(co-located within CEDI 2010,

Ambient Assisted Living fosters the provision of equipment and services for the independent or more autonomous living of elderly people, via the seamless integration of info-communication technologies within homes and residences, thus increasing their quality of life and autonomy and reducing the need for being institutionalized or aiding it when it happens. Source:
IWAAL promotes the collaboration among researches in this area, concentrating efforts and detecting quality of life, safety and health
problems of elderly people at home. For that, Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) have to be applied to accomplish peoples independence in this environment. In addition, other environments such as hospitals or residences have to be considered. Finally, proposals for supporting families and caregivers activities are also very important for this workshop.

– Smart sensors and wireless sensor networks
– Ambient Intelligence for AAL
– Smart homes & Intelligent Residences for AAL
– Identification and Sensing Technologies for AAL
– Applications for health and tele-mobile-health
– Applications for chronic diseases
– Diabetes, Obesity, Alzheimer and AAL
– Mobile-Tele-monitoring and devices in AAL
– Hospital Communications Managements for AAL
– Multi-modal Interaction Techniques and Devices
– Digital Television Services for AAL
– Artificial Intelligence for learning and reactive AAL
– Artificial Neural Networks in AAL
– Rule-based systems in AAL
– Context Awareness in Assistive Environments
– Social Robotics

Types of submissions:
1. Long Paper. A maximum length of 10 pages. They must consist of original, relevant and previously unpublished sound research results related to any of the topics of the symposium.
2. Short paper. A maximum length of 5 pages (for example, a project report, a summary of a PhD dissertation, or work in progress).
3. Doctoral Consortium. PhD students are invited to present their thesis proposal and progress reports of their research, in order to obtain feedback from the conferences panel of experts. The length of these papers should be no longer than 8 pages.

All submissions will be refereed by experts in the field based on originality, significance, quality and clarity. Every submitted paper to IWAAL-2010 will be reviewed by at least two members of the Scientific Committee. The conference papers will be published as part of the CEDI proceedings (with ISBN). Selected papers from the conference will be published in a special theme of the Personal and Ubiquitous Computing journal, indexed in the Journal Citation Reports (

Important Dates:
Paper submission: April 18, 2010
Notification of acceptance: May 17, 2010
Camera-ready version: May 27, 2010
Conference dates: September 7-10, 2010

– General Chair, José Bravo, UCLM (Spain)
– Program Chair, Diego López-de-Ipiña, University of Deusto (Spain)
– Web master, Szilard Kados, University of Deusto (Spain)

– Mariano Alcañiz – Polytechnic University of Valencia (Spain)
– Xavier Alamán – Autonomous University of Madrid (Spain)
– Cecilio Angulo UPC (Spain)
– M. Teresa Arredondo UPM (Spain)
– Ana Bernardos UPM (Spain)
– José Bravo UCLM (Spain)
– Cristina Buiza – Ingema (Spain)
– Yang Cai – Carnegie Mellon University (USA)
– Luke Chen University of Ulster (UK)
– Ricardo Costa – Polytechnic of Porto (Portugal)
– Hariton Costin( U. Medicine and Pharmacy, Romania)
– Jesús Favela – CICESE (Mexico)
– Lidia Fuentes – University of Malaga (Spain)
– Diego Gachet – European University of Madrid (Spain)
– Begoña García – University of Deusto (Spain)
– Antonio F. Gómez Skarmeta – University of Murcia (Spain)
– Sergio Guilllén – ITACA Institute (Spain)
– Riitta Hellman – Karde AS (Norway)
– Nati Herrasti ETIC (Spain)
– Ramón Hervás (UCLM)
– Juan M. Ibañez de Aldecoa – Ministerio de Industria, Turismo y Comercio (Spain)
– Igone Idígoras – Robotiker (Spain)
– Minna Isomursu (VTT, Finland)
– Robert Istepanian (Kingston University, UK)
– Javier Jaén – Polytechnic University of Valencia (Spain)
– Carlos Juiz – University of the Balearic Islands (Spain)
– Isidro Laso – D.G. Information Society and Media (European Commission)
– Diego López de Ipiña – University of Deusto (Spain)
– René Meier – Trinity College Dublin (Ireland)
– Nuria Oliver – Telefónica I+D (Spain)
– Oscar Mayora – Create-Net (Italy)
– Chris Nugent University of Ulster (UK)
– Aaron J. Quigley – University College Dublin (Ireland)
– Marcela Rodriguez – Autonomous University of Baja California (Mexico)
– Rui Jose – University of Minho (Portugal)
– Migel Angel Valero UPM, (Spain)
– Iñaki Vazquez – University of Deusto (Spain)
– Pablo Vidales – Deutsche Telekom Laboratories (Germany)

Candidate names for the next video encoding standard

The next video encoding standard is under development, so candidate names have been placed on the table for discussion.
More specifically, the finalists are:

  • HVC – High-efficiency Video Coding (Note: not High-performance Video Coding? I prefer the latter)
  • EPVC – Enhanced Performance Video Coding
  • HEVC – High Efficiency Video Coding
  • HCEV – High Coding Efficiency Video

Based on this list, an online poll has been set up at Doodle [Poll: Name of new MPEG/VCEG Standard].
Currently HVC seems to be the winner.